BlackTreeCVE Intelligence
← Back to the CVE catalogue
Full vulnerability report · 2025
CVE-2025-54236High confidence

Adobe Commerce and Magento Improper Input Validation Vulnerability

Adobe · Commerce and Magento

Official source article: Adobe APSB25-88 ↗. Check the applicable product and release in the original source.

9.1CriticalCVSS 3.1
Recommended action
Mitigate now

CISA confirms exploitation in the wild and lists 2025-11-14 as the remediation due date.

Mitigation available
R
Operational reassessment

Published severity in operational context

Open reassessment dashboard →
Published severityCriticalOperational priority:Critical, unchanged from published severity.unchanged

Evidence used

  • CISA confirms exploitation in the wild.
  • A structured source references public exploit or proof-of-concept material.
  • The selected CVSS metric records a network-reachable, unauthenticated path with no user interaction.
  • EPSS is 94.53% for the current model date.

Compensating controls

  • Apply the linked authoritative mitigation while planning the permanent fix.
  • Restrict the affected network interface to trusted sources where business-safe.
  • Increase monitoring for the attack path and post-exploitation behaviour described in the report.

Verification

  1. Confirm that the asset runs Adobe Commerce and Magento and falls inside the recorded affected range.
  2. Recheck the vendor advisory before scheduling a change because no verified fixed version is currently retained.
  3. Validate exposure, authentication requirements and compensating controls in the actual environment.
  4. Reopen this reassessment when CVSS, KEV, EPSS, exploit evidence or remediation changes.
Mitigation target: Within 3 daysRemediation target: Within 90 days

This automated reassessment organises public evidence. It does not know asset exposure, business impact or control effectiveness and does not replace CVSS or a human risk decision.

Open-source package ranges11 source-attributed ranges

These OSV and GitHub advisory ranges apply only to the named package and ecosystem. A listed fixed version is not a universal product patch or proof that an update is installed.

Ecosystem and packageAffected rangeFirst fixed versionEvidence
composermagento/community-edition<= 2.4.5-p14Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition= 2.4.6Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition>= 2.4.6-p1, <= 2.4.6-p12Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition= 2.4.5Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition>= 2.4.9-alpha1, <= 2.4.9-alpha2Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition= 2.4.7Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition= 2.4.8Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition>= 2.4.7-beta1, <= 2.4.7-p7Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition>= 2.4.8-beta1, <= 2.4.8-p2Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/community-edition= 2.4.9Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
composermagento/project-community-edition<= 2.0.2Not statedGitHub advisory ↗github reviewed aggregator · 27 Oct 2025
Optional official sources

National CERT insights
?CERT means Computer Emergency Response Team; CSIRT is the closely related term Computer Security Incident Response Team.

Choose official national sources for this report. Each advisory shows its original language. Your selection is remembered on this device and included in shared links.

Official European source

ENISA European Vulnerability Database

Official EUVD identifiers, advisory evidence and known-exploited context. Missing fields are not treated as evidence of low risk.

1 current
ENISA EUVD identifier

EUVD-2025-27277

CISA KEV mirrored by ENISA

Adobe Commerce versions 2.4.9-alpha2, 2.4.8-p2, 2.4.7-p7, 2.4.6-p12, 2.4.5-p14, 2.4.4-p15 and earlier are affected by an Improper Input Validation vulnerability. A successful attacker can abuse this to achieve session takeover, increasing the confidentiality, and integrity impact to high. Exploitation of this issue does not require user interaction.

EUVD state
Present in the current official mapping
Known exploitation
Recorded by ENISA since 24 Oct 2025. Evidence sources: cisa_kev.
ENISA score
9.1 · CVSS 3.1
Advisory evidence
2 linked advisory records
Explicit mitigation evidence

Only statements that explicitly mention a fix, patch, update, workaround or mitigation are shown here.

  • csaf_ncscnl · NCSC-2025-0284Kwetsbaarheid verholpen in Adobe Commerce en Magento
Recommended actionMitigate now

CISA confirms exploitation in the wild and lists 2025-11-14 as the remediation due date.

Mitigation available
01

What, why and how

Adobe Commerce and Magento Open Source contain an improper input validation vulnerability that could allow an attacker to take over customer accounts through the Commerce REST API.

What

Adobe Commerce and Magento Open Source contain an improper input validation vulnerability that could allow an attacker to take over customer accounts through the Commerce REST API.

Why

The product receives input or data, but it does not validate or incorrectly validates that the input has the properties that are required to process the data safely and correctly.

How

An attacker operating through a network path may attempt exploitation without authentication or user interaction. If successful, the issue may cause the confidentiality, integrity or availability impact described by the vendor.

What

Adobe Commerce and Magento Open Source contain an improper input validation vulnerability that could allow an attacker to take over customer accounts through the Commerce REST API.

Why

The product receives input or data, but it does not validate or incorrectly validates that the input has the properties that are required to process the data safely and correctly.

How

An attacker operating through a network path may attempt exploitation without authentication or user interaction. If successful, the issue may cause the confidentiality, integrity or availability impact described by the vendor.

02

Exploit reality and attack path

CVSS severity, EPSS forecast probability, public exploit material and CISA-confirmed exploitation are separate signals.

Observed exploitation
?Confirmed exploitation and public exploit material are separate signals. Attacks can occur without public proof-of-concept or exploit code.
Confirmed in the wild

CISA added this CVE to its Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalogue on 2025-10-24.

Public PoC / exploit material
?Confirmed exploitation and public exploit material are separate signals. Attacks can occur without public proof-of-concept or exploit code.
Reference recorded

A structured CVE source labels at least one public reference as exploit material. BlackTree has not independently validated that it is safe, reliable or weaponised.

Likely attack path
a network path → Improper Input Validation → cause the confidentiality, integrity or availability impact described by the vendor
Attack surface
Network
Privileges required
None: unauthenticated exploitation is possible
User interaction
None
Attack complexity
Low: no specialised conditions are recorded
Security boundary
Unchanged: impact remains within the vulnerable component's security authority
Weakness
?CWE means Common Weakness Enumeration: a standard category for the underlying weakness.
CWE-20 ↗

CWE-20: Improper Input Validation. The product receives input or data, but it does not validate or incorrectly validates that the input has the properties that are required to process the data safely and correctly.

CVSS vector
?CVSS means Common Vulnerability Scoring System. The vector records the metric values used to calculate technical severity.
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

Common Vulnerability Scoring System 3.1: the compact vector below is decoded into plain language.

AVNetworkAttack vector: The vulnerable component can be reached over a network.ACLowAttack complexity: No specialised conditions are required beyond attacker-controlled input.PRNonePrivileges required: The attacker does not need an account or existing privileges.UINoneUser interaction: No action by another user is required.SUnchangedScope: The security impact remains within the vulnerable component's authority.CHighConfidentiality impact: A successful attack can cause a major loss.IHighIntegrity impact: A successful attack can cause a major loss.ANoneAvailability impact: No direct loss is represented by this metric.
Post-exploitation / living off the land
No specific living-off-the-land technique is confirmed in the structured sources. Monitor normal administration tools for activity inconsistent with the affected service's baseline.
NetworkUnauthenticatedCWE-20CISA KEVPublic exploit reference
A

Official authority intelligence

Only matched European and national findings are included. Language selectors and unavailable sources are omitted.

ENISA EUVD · EUVD-2025-27277Known-exploited evidence recorded

Adobe Commerce versions 2.4.9-alpha2, 2.4.8-p2, 2.4.7-p7, 2.4.6-p12, 2.4.5-p14, 2.4.4-p15 and earlier are affected by an Improper Input Validation vulnerability. A successful attacker can abuse this to achieve session takeover, increasing the confidentiality, and integrity impact to high. Exploitation of this issue does not require user interaction.

Official EUVD record ↗
BSI · German · WID-SEC-2025-1999Adobe Magento SessionReaper: Schwachstelle ermöglicht Umgehung von Sicherheitsmaßnahmen

Ein Angreifer kann eine Schwachstelle in Adobe Magento ausnutzen, um Sicherheitsmaßnahmen zu umgehen.

Official advisory ↗
Canadian Centre for Cyber Security · English · AV25-583Adobe security advisory (AV25-583) - Update 1

On September 9, 2025, Adobe published security advisories to address vulnerabilities in the following products: Update 1

Official advisory ↗
Cyber Security Agency of Singapore · English · CSA-SB-20250910Security Bulletin 10 SEP 2025

The Cyber Security Agency of Singapore included this CVE in its official Security Bulletin 10 SEP 2025, published on 10 September 2025. Open the linked bulletin for the product, severity and reference information published in that issue.

Official advisory ↗
CERT-FR · French · CERTFR-2025-AVI-0767Vulnérabilité dans les produits Adobe

Une vulnérabilité a été découverte dans les produits Adobe. Elle permet à un attaquant de provoquer un contournement de la politique de sécurité.

Official advisory ↗
JVN iPedia · Japanese · JVNDB-2025-013659複数のアドビ製品における入力確認に関する脆弱性

アドビの Adobe Commerce、Adobe Commerce B2B、Magento Open Source には、入力確認に関する脆弱性が存在します。

Official advisory ↗
KISA KrCERT/CC · Korean · KNVD-6610美 CISA 발표 주요 Exploit 정보공유(Update. 2025-10-24)

Adobe Commerce and Magento Open Source contain an improper input validation vulnerability that could allow an attacker to take over customer accounts through the Commerce REST API.

Official advisory ↗
NCSC-NL · Dutch · NCSC-2025-0284Kwetsbaarheid verholpen in Adobe Commerce en Magento

De kwetsbaarheid bevindt zich in de wijze waarop invoer wordt gevalideerd in Adobe Commerce en Magento. Deze kwetsbaarheid stelt aanvallers in staat om sessieovername-aanvallen uit te voeren zonder enige interactie van de gebruiker, wat de vertrouwelijkheid en integriteit van gebruikerssessies kan compromitteren.

Official advisory ↗
03

Patch and workaround

Operational remediation based on structured source evidence.

Status
?Patch availability is based on structured fixed-version fields and authoritative update references. If no fix is verified, check the vendor advisory before making a change.
Mitigation available
Affected
Adobe Commerce: ≤ 2.4.4-p15
Fixed
No fixed version is explicitly recorded in the structured CVE data.
Action
The Cyber Centre encourages users and administrators to review the provided web links and apply the necessary updates.
Workaround
No verified workaround is recorded. If business-safe, reduce exposure to the affected interface and allow only trusted sources until authoritative guidance is available.
04

Evidence and provenance

Published 9 Sept 2025 · Last source change 24 Oct 2025, 22:20 UTC · CWE-20 · Improper Input Validation

CVE recordCVE.org · 5.1
CVSS sourceCNA
EPSS source
?The date BlackTree first stored a score for this CVE from the daily FIRST EPSS feed.
FIRST · tracked since 2026-08-14
European sourceENISA EUVD · EUVD-2025-27277
Product sourceCISA KEV
Remediation sourceCVE/CNA references
CWE sourceCNA
NVD statusNVD enriched

Core structured fields are present and their contributing authorities are shown above.

Material change intelligence

What changed after publication

View recent updates ↗
  1. Vendor guidanceAuthoritative vendor guidance changed: removed remediation: cyber.gc.ca/adobe-security-advisory-av25-583.
    Before
    remediation: cyber.gc.ca/adobe-security-advisory-av25-583 · vendor advisory: experienceleague.adobe.com/ka-27397 · vendor advisory: helpx.adobe.com/apsb25-88.html
    After
    vendor advisory: experienceleague.adobe.com/ka-27397 · vendor advisory: helpx.adobe.com/apsb25-88.html
    psirt@adobe.com ↗
  2. Remediation statusRemediation status changed from Mitigation available to Awaiting fix.
    Before
    Mitigation available
    After
    Awaiting fix
    psirt@adobe.com ↗
  3. Affected versionsThe structured affected or fixed version information changed.
    Before
    ≤ 2.4.4-p15 · Fixed: No fixed version is explicitly recorded in the structured CVE data.
    After
    Adobe Commerce: ≤ 2.4.4-p15 · Fixed: No fixed version is explicitly recorded in the structured CVE data.
    CNA ↗
  4. Remediation statusRemediation status changed from Awaiting fix to Mitigation available.
    Before
    Awaiting fix
    After
    Mitigation available
    Canadian Centre for Cyber Security ↗
Material fields only · duplicate refreshes suppressed · history retained for the configured operational retention period
Technical terms and abbreviations used in this report
CVE
Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures: the public identifier for one disclosed vulnerability.
CVSS
Common Vulnerability Scoring System: a technical severity framework; it is not patching priority by itself.
EPSS
Exploit Prediction Scoring System: FIRST's estimate of the probability that exploitation activity will be observed in the next 30 days; it is a forecast, not confirmation.
CWE
Common Weakness Enumeration: the standard category describing the underlying software or hardware weakness.
CNA
CVE Numbering Authority: an organisation authorised to assign and publish CVE records.
CISA ADP
Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency Authorized Data Publisher: structured enrichment added to a CVE record.
NVD
National Vulnerability Database: NIST's enrichment service for CVE records.
CERT / CSIRT
A computer security incident response team that publishes warnings or coordinates incident response.
PoC
Proof of concept: public material that demonstrates or helps reproduce exploitation.
CSAF
Common Security Advisory Framework: a machine-readable format for security advisories.
LoTL
Living off the land: abuse of legitimate tools or system functions during an attack.
Free version - for non-commercial use only.CVE-2025-54236 · cve.blacktree.nl