BlackTreeCVE Intelligence
← Back to the CVE catalogue
Authoritative vendor disclosure · 2026
CVE-2025-13402High confidence

Ubuntu package status for CVE-2025-13402

Canonical · Ubuntu 24.04 LTS rnp

…UnknownVendor rating
Recommended action
Monitor

Canonical identifies this Ubuntu package state, but does not publish a fixed package version in the retained definition.

Under evaluation
R
Operational reassessment

Published severity in operational context

Open reassessment dashboard →
Published severityUnscoredOperational priority:Needs assessment, manual assessment needed.unscored

Evidence used

  • No CISA KEV confirmation is currently recorded.

Compensating controls

  • Restrict local access and enforce least privilege on affected hosts.
  • Monitor vendor guidance and exploitation sources for a material change.

Verification

  1. Confirm that the asset runs Canonical Ubuntu 24.04 LTS rnp and falls inside the recorded affected range.
  2. Recheck the vendor advisory before scheduling a change because no verified fixed version is currently retained.
  3. Validate exposure, authentication requirements and compensating controls in the actual environment.
  4. Reopen this reassessment when CVSS, KEV, EPSS, exploit evidence or remediation changes.
Mitigation target: Manual assessmentRemediation target: Manual assessment

This automated reassessment organises public evidence. It does not know asset exposure, business impact or control effectiveness and does not replace CVSS or a human risk decision.

Distribution package intelligence

Release-specific package status

ubuntu findings are scoped to the named distribution, release and source package. An absent finding does not mean a package is unaffected.

1 package state
Repository candidate not checked

A published vendor fix does not prove that a matching update is enabled and installable on a particular asset. Confirm the local package candidate before scheduling remediation.

Distribution releaseSource packageVendor stateFixed versionEvidence
Ubuntu 24.04 LTSnoble · standard archivernpUnder evaluationCanonical reports that the package might be affected and still needs evaluation or fixing.Not published in this feedCanonical Ubuntu Security ↗Source updated 29 Sep 2026
Optional official sources

National CERT insights
?CERT means Computer Emergency Response Team; CSIRT is the closely related term Computer Security Incident Response Team.

Choose official national sources for this report. Each advisory shows its original language. Your selection is remembered on this device and included in shared links.

Recommended actionMonitor

Canonical identifies this Ubuntu package state, but does not publish a fixed package version in the retained definition.

Under evaluation
01

What, why and how

Canonical reports that the package might be affected and still needs evaluation or fixing.

What

Canonical reports that the package might be affected and still needs evaluation or fixing.

Why

The current structured CVE record identifies a security weakness, but the root cause requires confirmation in the linked vendor material.

How

An attacker operating through the affected interface may attempt exploitation when the stated preconditions are met. If successful, the issue may cause the confidentiality, integrity or availability impact described by the vendor.

What

Canonical reports that the package might be affected and still needs evaluation or fixing.

Why

The current structured CVE record identifies a security weakness, but the root cause requires confirmation in the linked vendor material.

How

An attacker operating through the affected interface may attempt exploitation when the stated preconditions are met. If successful, the issue may cause the confidentiality, integrity or availability impact described by the vendor.

02

Exploit reality and attack path

CVSS severity, EPSS forecast probability, public exploit material and CISA-confirmed exploitation are separate signals.

Observed exploitation
?Confirmed exploitation and public exploit material are separate signals. Attacks can occur without public proof-of-concept or exploit code.
No confirmed evidence

No CISA KEV match was present at the last successful refresh. This means no confirmation from that source, not proof of no exploitation.

Public PoC / exploit material
?Confirmed exploitation and public exploit material are separate signals. Attacks can occur without public proof-of-concept or exploit code.
None recorded

No exploit-tagged reference or CISA SSVC proof-of-concept state is currently recorded. Research may still exist outside the structured feeds.

Likely attack path
the affected interface → vulnerable operation → cause the confidentiality, integrity or availability impact described by the vendor
Attack surface
Unspecified
Privileges required
Not stated in the selected CVSS metric
User interaction
Not stated in the selected CVSS metric
Attack complexity
Not stated in the selected CVSS metric
Security boundary
Not stated in the selected CVSS metric
Weakness
?CWE means Common Weakness Enumeration.
CWE not yet assigned
CVSS vector
?CVSS means Common Vulnerability Scoring System. The vector records the metric values used to calculate technical severity.
Not available from the selected scoring authority.
Post-exploitation / living off the land
No specific living-off-the-land technique is confirmed in the structured sources. Monitor normal administration tools for activity inconsistent with the affected service's baseline.
03

Patch and workaround

Operational remediation based on structured source evidence.

Status
?Patch availability is based on structured fixed-version fields and authoritative update references. If no fix is verified, check the vendor advisory before making a change.
Under evaluation
Affected
Ubuntu 24.04 LTS · standard · rnp: might be affected and may need fixing
Fixed
Canonical has not published a fixed package version in this OVAL definition.
Action
No verified fixed Ubuntu package is recorded in the current OVAL definition.
Workaround
Review the Canonical Ubuntu Security page and validate the exact release, package channel and installed package before changing the asset.
Official vendor articles1 stored document

Linked articles are downloaded and versioned as source evidence. A CVE mention or approved update relationship does not, by itself, verify a fix for every product branch.

  • CVE-2025-13402 | Ubuntu →Original publisher ↗Searchable text snapshot · Captured 26 Sep 2026CVE-2025-13402 Publication date 21 November 2025 Last updated 21 November 2025 Ubuntu priority Medium Why this priority? Toggle side navigation Description [RNP PKESK Session Keys Generated as All-Zero] Status Show unmaintained releases Package Ubuntu Release Status rnp 26.04 LTS resolute Needs evaluation 2
04

Evidence and provenance

Published 23 Sept 2026 · Last source change 23 Sept 2026, 05:22 UTC · CWE not yet assigned

CVE recordCanonical Ubuntu Security · Canonical Ubuntu OVAL
CVSS sourceUnavailable
EPSS source
?The date BlackTree first stored a score for this CVE from the daily FIRST EPSS feed.
Unavailable
European sourceNo official EUVD mapping
Product sourceAuthoritative vendor OVAL definition
Remediation sourceCVE/CNA references
CWE sourceUnavailable
NVD statusNVD status unavailable

Missing structured fields: official CVE record, CVSS base score, non-Ubuntu affected products. Missing data is not evidence of low risk; review the primary advisory.

Material change intelligence

What changed after publication

View recent updates ↗
  1. Catalogue recordCVE added to the BlackTree catalogue.
    Authoritative vendor OVAL definition ↗
Material fields only · duplicate refreshes suppressed · history retained for the configured operational retention period
Technical terms and abbreviations used in this report
CVE
Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures: the public identifier for one disclosed vulnerability.
CVSS
Common Vulnerability Scoring System: a technical severity framework; it is not patching priority by itself.
EPSS
Exploit Prediction Scoring System: FIRST's estimate of the probability that exploitation activity will be observed in the next 30 days; it is a forecast, not confirmation.
CWE
Common Weakness Enumeration: the standard category describing the underlying software or hardware weakness.
CNA
CVE Numbering Authority: an organisation authorised to assign and publish CVE records.
CISA ADP
Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency Authorized Data Publisher: structured enrichment added to a CVE record.
NVD
National Vulnerability Database: NIST's enrichment service for CVE records.
CERT / CSIRT
A computer security incident response team that publishes warnings or coordinates incident response.
PoC
Proof of concept: public material that demonstrates or helps reproduce exploitation.
CSAF
Common Security Advisory Framework: a machine-readable format for security advisories.
LoTL
Living off the land: abuse of legitimate tools or system functions during an attack.
Free version - for non-commercial use only.CVE-2025-13402 · cve.blacktree.nl